Chief Justice John Roberts Swears in Senators as Impeachment Trial Begins

The Senate’s impeachment trial of President Donald Trump officially began after Chief Justice John Roberts swore in all the senators present.

On Thursday, Roberts was escorted to the Senate floor by Sens. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), and Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.).

Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) administered the oath to Roberts.

Watch the swearing-in below:

After Roberts took the oath, Grassley could be overheard saying, “God bless you.”

Roberts then swore in all the senators present.

“Do you solemnly swear that in all things appertaining to the trial of the impeachment of Donald John Trump, President of the United States, now pending, you will do impartial justice according to the Constitution and laws so help you God?”

The senators were then called to the front of the chamber in groups of four to sign an oath book.

Roberts will preside over the trial and have the power to weigh in on motions filed during the proceeding.

Immediately after all the senators present were sworn in, Roberts began his duties as the presiding official as Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) introduced a motion to adjourn until Tuesday at 1 p.m.

Published in IJR


  1. Why swear any of these senators in? Bet you 90% have already made their minds. Just like Congress knew how they depreciating before they even started schiff and Madera hearings

Comments are closed.